top of page
Hello!

I'm Tia! I am converting a '95 Bluebird into my very first home and studio. Here you will find the many trials and tribulations of my journey. I am one women, and I can do anything! (Except sports.)

This is a beginner's guide to converting a school bus into a home.

Where? Vancouver Island, BC

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

The rain beat me: The replacement windows will have to wait until the rain stops i.e. NEVER

If you live anywhere near the West Coast in Canada, you know the persistence of the rain. Once it starts, an entire season will go by before it lets up. Well, yesterday was bluebird (get it?!), and today is monsoon. I definitely missed my window (HAH! I'm on fire!) on installing the metal sheets I cut yesterday. If I r e a l l y want to get them in, I'll have to tarp the whole goddam roof.

I did get some TEK screws to use from a specialty fastener shop. Stainless steel, so they won't rust. And rubber washers to seal the hole from the outside. They lady at this shop was much more helpful than the guy at Home Depot. Screw that place.

So instead of windows, today cut the heating hoses and drained the coolant into a bucket. There was barely anything in there... But I'll let them drain overnight and then reconnect the hoses tomorrow. To do this, I'll use two copper elbows and re-use 4 circular clamps to make a short loop near the pilot's seat. Eventually I'd like to drain the whole radiator and fill it with fresh coolant. I'll do this before I take it for a drive anywhere. Yesterday we tried to start it, to move it out of the way so we could stock up the firewood shed, but the battery was completely dead (even with the night switch turned off!). I seem to remember that most buses (and vans, for that matter) have several batteries. Mine came with just one. A shitty one I'm sure. So I'll have to sort that out down the road.

Today I also started on the floor. I ripped out the vinyl centre aisle, which was very easy. The impact driver, a Wonder Bar, and a hammer was all I needed. I rolled the long piece out in one round, and it revealed a soggy plywood underneath (parts of it frozen still!) I suspect that means it will be harder to peel out; coming out in sloppy, saggy, shapeless blobs instead of stiff chunks. I'm excited nonetheless. The floor is the last surface to come out before I start prepping for insulation! WHOOP WHOOP!

This is me in my daily attire.

bottom of page